*
you're reading...
Education, Technology

5 Reasons I Prefer Twitter Over Facebook

Twitter

flickr photo by monkeyworks

I continue to encounter a significant number of Facebook users who scoff at the idea of using Twitter.  Most perceive Twitter to be a meaningless stream of inconvenient drivel–devoid of substance or personality.  In a previous post (5 Reasons I Use Twitter, and You Should Too), I briefly discussed why Twitter has become a tool of choice for professional development in my career field (education).  My social networking experience began with Facebook, but in this post, I would like to briefly highlight several features of Twitter that have influenced my gradually diminishing Facebook presence and a dramatically increased Twitter footprint. 

1.  140 Characters (or less): Twitter makes you think about what you write, but doesn’t limit the ability to convey a coherent thought, or share pictures, links, videos, etc.  The brevity of tweets allows users to filter large amounts of information in a short period of time.  Blogs are the best platform for conveying substantially worded thoughts and/or arguments–not “social” networking platforms where the idea is to create a flow of information.  Twitter forces brevity, but doesn’t diminish the ability to share ideas.

2.  Personal, But Not Too Personal: Twitter provides glimpses of the personal interests (and quirks) of users, but it is not overly intrusive.  Users choose how much, or how little, to share–giving them more control more over their personal information than afforded by other social networking platforms.  That being said, active tweeters develop strong personal connections to other users with whom they share interests (look no further than #edchat discussions and how participants talk about their PLN).

3.  Hashtags (#): the addition of this simple symbol allows Twitter users to participate in discussions (such as #edchat), tag tweets for reference, and search a tremendous amount of information in a short period of time.  Hashtags also allow users to find others with similar interests. 

4.  Interact with Anyone, Follow Who You Want: Twitter does not require that you “friend” someone in order to follow, or converse with them.  Through the use of hashtags and/or usernames, tweeters are able to send messages to anyone.  This means that users have the ability to expand their communication network well beyond those they choose to follow.  Twitter is literally a world-wide, real-time connection to those who share a profession, interests, or a hashtag.

5.  No Farmville: Let’s be honest…if you use Twitter and Facebook, it is refreshing to be able to go to your Twitter stream without encountering someone asking for your help to build a barn, or feed a chicken.  While I am being a bit facetious about this, I have grown to view Facebook as something I participate in “for fun” and to keep up with friends and acquaintances on a limited basis.  In contrast, Twitter has become a professional tool…something I use to get and share ideas.

If you aren’t on the Twitter bandwagon, I suggest you grab a seat.  Create an account, find a few people to follow, join in on the discussion and see where it takes you.  If you are convinced that Twitter is not your thing and that you are better suited to Facebook…feel free to “friend” me.  Just send me a tweet, and I’ll gladly accept.  Tweet on!

About azjd

K-12 administrator, sports fanatic, bicycling enthusiast, and jedi in my own mind.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “5 Reasons I Prefer Twitter Over Facebook

  1. I totally agree with your 5 reasons. I use Twitter to learn and grow as an educator and Facebook to keep up with old friends.I’ve bookmarked this post to share with other teachers in my building who use Facebook, but scoff at the idea of trying Twitter. Thank you for sharing this.

    Posted by Paula L. Naugle (@plnaugle) | December 26, 2010, 6:29 am
  2. I concur with all of your reasons.

    I first started using Facebook to try to connect with educators and found Twitter a much better vehicle for that purpose. I have an amazing group of global educators in my PLN thanks to Twitter. However, I have noticed lately there has been more of a crossover as many have friended me on FB.

    I posted your 5 Reasons I Prefer Twitter Over Facebook on my Twitter page on my website: http://cybraryman.com/twitter.html

    Posted by Cybrary Man - Jerry Blumengarten | December 26, 2010, 3:45 pm
  3. I couldn’t agree more with your reasons for using Twitter, given your stated purpose of building a PLN. For me, whether one tool is better than another is still largely dependent on purpose. I use FB to keep up with family, friends, and social trends, and Twitter to keep up with educational trends while hating resources and blog links. Whether one site is “better” than another depends on your purpose for using them. For those looking for a way to connect with other professionals, I’ll definitely be sharing your post.

    Posted by tborash | December 26, 2010, 5:20 pm
  4. awesome post…I feel you on those reasons. I moved to twitter over facebook, because facebook always hating on me and always wants to ban me for adding new friends I just met, telling me stuff like “dude you don’t know this person” lol I be like, “how come you know that?” Either way, cant a guy stalk in peace, #gosh.

    Posted by rawmultimedia | December 27, 2010, 8:22 am
  5. I am new to twitter, but agree with your sentiments. I am still a reader and not really a poster, but I am trying to learn!

    Posted by arumsey | December 29, 2010, 6:07 pm
  6. I like your writing, always successful

    Posted by arif | January 2, 2011, 7:04 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 5 Reasons I Prefer Twitter Over Facebook (via Molehills out of Mountains) | Chicago Mac/PC Support - December 26, 2010

  2. Pingback: 5 Reasons I Prefer Twitter Over Facebook « Molehills out of Mountains | Global Intersect Blogs - December 26, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers

