*
you're reading...
Administration, Education, Leadership, Teaching

Lunch Duty Lessons: Turning Responsibilities Into Opportunities

Messy students

flickr photo by msittig

“We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations.” ~ Charles Swindoll

Tomorrow is lunch duty day.

Every Friday, at about 11:30 a.m., I make may way over to the cafeteria for three hours of supervising junior high students as they eat lunch, socialize and act squirrely. I would image that the prospect of spending time in this manner would be a nightmare for most sane people. In fact, when I began my career as a school administrator, I dreaded lunch duty.

“Clean off your table.”

“Quit running.”

“Stop throwing grapes.”

“Don’t pop your Cheetos bag.”

The problem: I saw lunch duty as a disciplinary activity. I was there to maintain order, enforce rules and dish out punishment as appropriate. Lunch duty was lost time–and in my case, a lost opportunity. Not anymore.

Lunch duty is now one of my favorite responsibilities of the week. It is one of the few activities where I have the chance to see every student in the school and interact with them on a personal level. Lunch duty is no longer a disciplinary activity–it is an opportunity to show an interest in students, develop connections and establish trust.

How often do we miss out on opportunities because we are too concerned about our carrying out our responsibilities? Keep your priorities in line, remember your purpose and look for opportunities to make a difference–especially where you don’t expect them.

About azjd

Junior high principal by day, aspiring difference maker, and Jedi in my own mind. Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Jeff Delp

Junior high principal by day, sports enthusiast, technology fanatic and jedi in my own mind. Striving to be a difference maker!
