*
you're reading...
Creativity, Education, Interests

Every Day a New Year: Daily Resolutions

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

flickr photo via Amir Kuckovic

I have tried resolutions. 

This is how it typically goes: I try to decide what I should resolve, what my plan should be and if I should start on New Year’s Day, or wait a week or two to let all of the non-serious  resolutionists fall off the bandwagon.  I might even get my resolutions down on paper, with an amorphous plan for how I am going to accomplish these goals and an unspecified start date.  Problem is, the start date rarely gets specified and pretty soon March rolls around and I decide I might as well wait until next year.

This year, I am going to do something different.  Daily resolutions.  I am going to create a rolling new year–one where each new day is the beginning of another 365 days.  Using my trusty Google calendar and existing task list, I am going to specify a few things, each day, that I will accomplish.  It might look something like this:

Today I WILL:

  • Pack my lunch instead of eating cafeteria food
  • Make 3 positive phone calls to the parents of students
  • Go for a walk/jog

That’s it.  No grand plans.  No specific system.  Just a few doable goals and the knowledge that the next day is a “New Year.”  I like the idea that this might lead to daily reflection on what I have accomplished and what I need to accomplish.  Each day will be like New Year’s Eve…but without the confetti and hoopla.  That is my plan and I’m sticking to it.

Happy New Year to all!

About azjd

Junior high principal by day, aspiring difference maker, and Jedi in my own mind. Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Every Day a New Year: Daily Resolutions

  1. Agreed – it’s all about quality, not quantity, and regularly revisiting one’s goals. Well said.

    Posted by Steve Guditus | December 31, 2010, 5:20 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Resolution | The Principal of Change - December 31, 2010

  2. Pingback: A new year to rise above. - January 1, 2011

  3. Pingback: Feeling Blue? Join the Squirrels. « Molehills out of Mountains - January 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

