*
you're reading...
Administration, At-Risk, Education, Leadership, Teaching

May I Check Your Bags?

Returnee boy at waystation

flickr photo by sidelife

We have all seen them, in fact we may have been them.  The exhausted traveler, scrambling through the airport, carrying too much luggage…too much stuff.  The journey itself has taken its toll, but the added baggage has brought the traveler to the brink.  A little help please?

Not a bad analogy for our daily lives, but with less transparency.  It is difficult to know the challenges faced by our students and colleagues–the concerns that make each day a frantic trip through the “airport.” Mortgage payments, flat tires, hunger, unkind words, poverty, insomnia…and the list goes on.

It has not required much reflection for me to arrive at the understanding that my life is good.  Absent of truly significant challenges and devoid of significant hardships.  It will serve me well to keep this in mind when I begin to feel sorry for myself–instead, focusing on how I might assist those with whom I work. What might I do…what might I sacrifice…to lessen the load for others?

Justin Tarte (@justintarte) has written an exceptional post entitled Let’s Make a Difference, on his blog, Life of an Educator.  Justin suggests ten easy ways that educator’s can make a difference on a daily basis.  I would encourage you to visit his site, read the article, and put words into practice.

So, the next time you feel a rising frustration with your students or colleagues, consider the additional baggage they may be carrying, and ask yourself how you might be able to alleviate some of the stress–through our words, actions, time, or willingness to listen.  Remember, we are all in this together.

About azjd

Junior high principal by day, aspiring difference maker, and Jedi in my own mind. Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

Discussion

One thought on “May I Check Your Bags?

  1. It’s not about us, and you know that Jeff. Thanks for reminding us that we’re here to serve and love others.

    Posted by Tom Altepeter | March 21, 2011, 10:57 pm

Leave a Reply

