*
you're reading...
Education, Family

My Favorite Teacher

Father and son playing and bonding on Bogey-Board on Morro Strand State Beach

cc flickr photo: by mikebaird

As educators, we often see the unfortunate aftermath of difficult family situations — divorce, split homes, absentee parents and even abusive relationships. This result in kids, still trying to be kids, while facing very “adult” situations in their home life — situations that force them to grow-up too fast. Sometimes these students come through the smoke and haze with a fierce determination to succeed, other times it leaves them floundering to find stability and a purpose for their life.  I have a tremendous amount of respect and admiration for kids, and parents, who face these difficulties and come through with flying colors in spite of the bumps and bruises.  They are truly real-life heroes.

That being said, working families in these difficult situations has reinforced my feelings of appreciation for my parents, and on this Father’s Day, a thankfulness for the positive role my Dad has had (and continues to have) in my life.

I have learned a lot of things in school, but my most important lessons have been courtesy of my parents–especially my Dad.

  • Treat others with respect, courtesy and dignity.
  • Be patient.
  • Do what is right, even when it is the most difficult option.
  • Work is a reflection of who you are as a person.  Take pride in what you do, even the little things.
  • Actively seek opportunities to help others who are less fortunate.
  • Adversity highlights opportunities for growth…make the most of it.
  • Invest time and love in your family.
  • Tell, and show others, they are appreciated.
  • Value each moment of every day (still working on this one).

I hope that others see these qualities in my life, because if they do, they are seeing a reflection of my father — the kind of man I want to be.

So, on this Father’s Day, thank you to all parents who work tirelessly to instill the qualities of human decency and success in their children.  Know that your efforts are valued and your work is appreciated!  You are the most critical educator in your child’s life.

A very Happy Father’s day to my Dad…you are my favorite teacher!

About azjd

Junior high principal by day, aspiring difference maker, and Jedi in my own mind. Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Teacher

  1. Great sentiments of this day that is set aside to honor fathers. You were blessed to have a father who taught you great lessons. Give him a hug and a kiss from me.

    Posted by Paula Naugle | June 19, 2011, 10:42 am
  2. Thanks for reminding us that what happens outside classroom walls can so significantly impact what happens within them. Thanks for your post and a Happy Father’s Day to your dad! 🙂

    Posted by Andrea Budding | June 19, 2011, 9:15 pm
  3. I found myself feeling the exact same way about my own father while reading. As a new father, I hope to do the same for my daughter. Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by Ryan Cantrell | June 29, 2011, 9:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Jeff Delp

Junior high principal by day, sports enthusiast, technology fanatic and jedi in my own mind. Striving to be a difference maker!
