*
you're reading...
Education, Students, Teaching

Do You Know Me?

Mike

cc flickr photo by Ingsoc

Do you know me?  I am a student in your classroom.

  • I struggle to find relevance in what I am being taught, but I have interests and passions.
  • I am outspoken, but I may try to get through the day without any interaction.
  • Actively involve me in learning and I will likely be engaged.  Lecture me and I will likely lose interest.
  • I am not waiting for superman.  I am waiting for someone to take a personal interest.
  • I can run you through every imaginable emotion, all within a forty-five minute class period.
  • I act out because I don’t understand, because I already know, or because I am not connected.
  • I don’t just have “potential”.  I can be a difference maker today.
  • There is trouble at home, so your frustration with my failure to complete homework seems trivial.
  • I care, but my priorities are not your priorities and my interests are not necessarily your interests.
  • For me, technology means socialization, communication, collaboration…it is a window to the world.  I would like to use it in school.
  • I may have my own room, with my own bed, or my family may have a one-room with a fold out sofa.
  • I am creative, but on my terms…in pursuit of my interests.
  • I am hungry today and I did not sleep well last night.
  • I am a kid, so I am prone to making mistakes.  Encouragement, affirmation and reassurance are appreciated.
  • I love my freedom.  I like to explore.  Too often, school feels like a prison.
  • I value you your opinion, but I also value the opinion of my peers.  Please don’t make me choose.
  • I am tough, and I am resilient, but I still need an advocate.
  • It has been a long time since I have tasted success.  Will you provide that opportunity?
  • I am not mad at you, but I am going to make you pay for my frustrations.  Button pusher.
  • I am unique.  My needs are unique.  I have unique talents and interests.  My success in school depends on you figuring out what makes me tick.

I am a student in your classroom.  Do you know me?

About azjd

Junior high principal by day, aspiring difference maker, and Jedi in my own mind. Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Does Dad Always Know Best? | ebpsprincipal2 - March 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

