*
you're reading...
Creativity, Education, Teaching, Technology

Capturing #ISTE12 with @IFTTT @Twitter @Evernote @Instagram

As I prepare for the upcoming #ISTE12 conference, I have been scrambling to get packed, organize my technology devices, and develop a plan to make the most of the learning experience.  If you are attending the conference, or following the back channel on Twitter, you might want to have a system for capturing intriguing tweets, posts, or images, and consolidating them in one place. Already an avid Twitter and Evernote user, I have recently turned to a relatively new internet service, If This Then That (IFTT), to manage my information flow for the next several days.  By creating a few simple algorithms (called a “recipe” in IFTT), I will be able to capture elements of my #ISTE12 conference experience in my Evernote account. For those interested, here are a few of the recipes I will be using.  Feel free to use them as they are, or modify them to meet your own needs.

1.  Recipe #1 – Append any Tweet, with a specified hashtag, to a note in your Evernote account.   http://ifttt.com/recipes/41916 This will create one note, with a running list of tweets. My recipe appends anything I tweet, that includes the hashtag #ISTE12, to a note titled “iste12” in a “tweets” notebook in my Evernote account.  The note looks something like this: 2.  Recipe #2 – I plan on “visually” documenting the conference, so this recipe will allow me to send any Instagram photo, tagged with #iste12, to a notebook in my Evernote account.  http://ifttt.com/recipes/41925 As you might imagine, there are many other IFTTT options that streamline the process of collecting information and keeping up with the conference backstream.  IFTT is also a great way to manage your everday work/social media flow — the opportunities are endless. If interested, here are a couple other recipes I use: Notable Tweets – append any tweet tagged with #en, to a note in a specified Evernote notebook.  http://ifttt.com/recipes/41926 Read it Later (with Pocket) – this recipe will send the link in any tweet tagged with “later” to a Pocket account.  http://ifttt.com/recipes/41929

Enjoy #ISTE12 – either in person, or virtually.  If you are attending, track me down and say hello!

About azjd

Junior high principal by day, aspiring difference maker, and Jedi in my own mind. Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

